Six Women’s Slave Narratives


Six Women’s Slave narratives contains stories that embody most of the predominant themes and narrative forms found in African-American women’s autobiographies from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Beginning with the first female slave narrative from the Americas, The History of Mary Prince, a West Indian Slave (1831), the collection includes writings by ‘Old Elizabeth, ‘ Mattie J. Jackson, Lucy A. Delaney, Kate Drumgoold, and Annie L. Burton.

9999 in stock


The History of Mary Prince, a West Indian Slave (1831) was the first female slave narrative from the Americas. The Story of Mattie J.Jackson (1866) recounts a quest for personal freedom and ends with a family reunion in the North after the Civil War. The Memoir of Old Elizabeth, a Colored Woman (1863) is the tale of a 97-year-old ex-slave who became a preacher. Lucy A.Delaney’s From the Darkness Cometh the Light or Struggles for Freedom (c. 1891) records a former slave’s achievements in the quarter-century after the end of the Civil War. Kate Drumgoold and Annie L.Burton also describe their successes in the postwar North while eulogizing black motherhood in the antebellum South.

Additional information

Weight 1.07 lbs
Dimensions 8.54 × 5.51 × 0.95 in


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Six Women’s Slave Narratives”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *